Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Für die Nutzungsanalyse wird die Software Piwik verwendet.
Wenn Sie der Nutzungsanalyse widersprechen oder mehr über Cookies erfahren möchten, klicken Sie bitte auf die Informationen zum Datenschutz.

East Asia Department


Languages and Countries

The East Asia Department holds the most important collection of East, Southeast and Central Asian materials in German-speaking areas, both of national and international standing. The major part of the collection is written in Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Mongolian, Tibetan and the minority languages of China. Books and periodicals in Western languages dealing with the respective countries of the region and treating topics relating to East Asia are also acquired comprehensively.

Library acquisition policies take into consideration the different research subjects within the fields of East, Southeast and Central Asian studies. This includes, in East and Central Asia, the People's Republic of China (encompassing Machuria, Inner Mongolia, Tibet, Hong Kong, Macau), the Republic of China (Taiwan), Mongolia, Japan, North and South Korea. In Southeast Asia, Brunei, Myanmar, Indonesia, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, East Timor, Papua New Guinea, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

The EAD considers itself the institutional partner of researchers on historical as well as contemporary topics, providing them with the necessary source materials and scholarly publications.